Day #1 of Detox

Good morning all! It is 7:30 am and I am done working out and having breakfast! I need to get a few things off my chest before I talk to you about this new journey I’m trying out. First, I feel like since Madi has come (5 months ago), I’ve been exhausted, have no energy, just groggy all the time. If you know me, you’d know I’m full of energy when it comes to teaching and let me say my girls have seen more cranky Mrs. S then the real me that my students saw when I was teaching. How sad, I know! In addition, I feel like it’s ok to be “bla” because I have a baby that doesn’t sleep through the night, and new to homeschooling and struggling to sleep…and….and…and….and the many other reasons I can give off. I’ve heard this saying before “fake it until you make it” and I absolutely love it! I’m going to fake that I am SUPER excited about working out, teaching my girls, waking up in the middle of the night for the 5th time to nurse…yes, you read that correct! If you see me throughout the day, seriously, help me snap out of the “I’m tired, feeling bla” phase. Not only am I NOT allowing this “bla” phase but I want change! I WILL do my best to not allow bla time: where I just sit and think about how tired I am or when I’ll get more sleep because truthfully, when I was teaching in front of 30 freshman, I put my “A” game on. I could have slept 3 hours the night before but yet, I’d fake the energy in front of them to entertain them, make them smile, and enjoy the material they were being taught. Soooo, here it is…I slept 5 hours last night broken up into several little chunks what I consider cat naps and you know what, it DOESN’T MATTER because today will NOT be an “I’m tired” kind of day! I woke up to nurse and had to decide whether to go back to bed and sleep a little longer or to stay awake and begin my day. Well FINALLY, I made the right decision. It was time to GET UP, spend time in the Word of God and workout! I just need a more balanced life!

You with me ladies?! That’s not the end of it! You may be already working out and that’s AMAZING! I truly am inspired by mommies that workout, homeschool, spend time in the Word, cook, clean and DO IT ALL! Yet, here is the new journey: I am doing a 7 day detox to begin! You know what means? No pasta, no bread, no dairy (good-bye my amazing COFFEE—you WILL be missed)….NO SUGAR! It will be hard, no wait…more like, nearly impossible for me and I may even fail one of these days but I’ll get back up and try again!

I WANT energy and I want to get everything done around here without pulling myself around like I woke up a bunch of times during the night and am a sleep deprived monster! 🙂

I do have help in this and you’re more than welcomed to join me on this journey if you’d like! I am part of a group that is lead by a wonderful health coach (Traci Warren-who is amazing) that will help me get through this. It was a special group created by her and I am blessed to be a part of this 7 day detox! I will include the recipes on here that I’ll be making each night for dinner and my breakfast/lunch/snacks for the day.

Here’s the grocery list for the DINNER meals only. I make making up my own breakfast.lunch.snacks which will include a lot of eggs, meat, vegis, nuts, vegis, fruit, vegis… did I mention vegis? 🙂 So follow along…and join if you’d like! I took all my measurements and weight before the week began so hoping all this will give me more energy! I already have more energy this morning and I’m running on a grapefruit and a workout that kicked my behind 🙂

getting balanced

You can follow me on this journey or you can join me, here’s what you can do. If you’d like to join me in doing this, feel free to let me know you’re interested and we start some accountability together! Otherwise, just tag along and watch me struggle as I become the new ME!

Work out video: Jillian Michael 30 day shred

Grocery list for 7 day detox:   7 Day DETOX

Note: The bolded ingredients on the recipes are my own addition to the recipe and aren’t included on the grocery list.

Today’s Breakfast:

  • Large grapefruit

Note: I still need to go grocery shopping for food I CAN eat this week so I know this is SUPER light—just wait until I have food to eat

AM Snack:

  • 1 can tuna fish in water (drained)
  • 1 green onion
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 12 cherry tomatoes

Lunch:

  • 3 slices of turkey
  • 2 cups of vegis: cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, bell peppers
  • 2 half scrambled eggs (made on non-skillet-no butter, no oil)

PM Snack:

Salad:

  • 3/4 cup sliced turkey
  • 1.5 cup of leafy greens
  • 3 Tbsp homemade avocado dressing
  • side of 1/2 cup peanuts

Smoothie (1/2 cup):

  • Blend 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1.5 cups frozen strawberry/mango mix, and 1/4 cup spinach

Dinner:

  • 2 lbs of pork loin
  • 1 lb pineapple
  • 4 colored bell peppers
  • 1 large yellow onion
  • 1 Tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves

Chop the peppers and onion. Mix the dijon, salt, pepper, ginger, olive oil, and garlic together–spread this mixture on the pork loin. Then add everything to the crock pot and cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4 hours.

Note: Dinner tasted ok–needed a lot more salt but kept it low for this detox.

 

Leave a Reply

